- Data current as of June 19, 2015. Source: governing.com
Beginning July 1, Idaho's neighbor to the west made it legal to recreationally smoke, inhale, eat, drink and otherwise consume marijuana, the Portland Mercury reports. But there are a few rules:
- Only people 21 years of age and older may possess or use recreational marijuana.
- Marijuana may only be consumed at home or on private property.
- A person may have up to 8 ounces of usable marijuana at home.
- A person may carry up to 1 ounce of marijuana outside the home.
- It is illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana.
- A person may grow as many as four marijuana plants but the plants must be kept out of public view.
- Marijuana may be shared or given away by members of the public, but not sold.
- Marijuana may not be purchased until licensed retail shops open.
- Marijuana may not be transported between Oregon and other states, including Washington, where recreational marijuana is also legal.
- Edibles containing marijuana may be consumed at home and given as gifts, but may not be used in public places.
Willamette Week reports that when that happens, medical marijuana dispensaries will be able to sell recreational weed as long as customers pay a 17 percent sales tax.
Also according to WW, few of the counties east of the Cascades voted in favor of legalizing recreational marijuana. A provision of Measure 91—the referendum that decriminalized recreational marijuana in Oregon—gives counties where 55 percent or more of voters cast ballots against legalization the option to ban pot stores.
One possible outcome is that in the coming months, some eastern Oregon counties could go "dry," creating what Oregon cannabis advocate and radio host Russ Belville called "West Idaho."
In the Gem State, marijuana is still illegal to possess—or even be in the same room with. Earlier this year, the Idaho Legislature passed a bill, dubbed Alexis' Law, that would have granted the parents of children with severe epileptic disorders the right to treat their children with cannabis oil extract, though Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter vetoed the bill when it reached his desk on April 16.