News » Citydesk

Idaho's Crazy Law Clearinghouse, Part Two

by

Last week, we gave you a preview of some lesser-known bills recently signed into law by Dirk "Catch you on the Flipside, Idaho" Kempthorne. The Governor's pen continued to work overtime this week, and it wasn't just over the much-ballyhood pseudophenedrine thingy, the school bullies thingy or the Medicaid reform thingy. For instance, did you know that in Idaho:

• People buying a "glider kit" for their big-rig no longer have to pay sales tax on the kit. Nice glider, good buddy.

• Public employees are allowed to take a month-long leave of absence in order to donate organs, or five days to donate bone marrow.

• Children between the age of 16 and 18 are now allowed to make "anatomical gifts" for purposes of "transplantation, therapy, research or education," as long as they have parental consent.

• Organ donors are allowed to take up to a $5,000 tax credit after dishing out their bone marrow, intestines, kidneys, livers, lungs and pancreases (or is it pancreai?).

• During all future "disaster emergencies," neither the governor nor any other governmental entity will be allowed to impose restrictions on the possession, transfer, sale, transport, storage, display or use of firearms or ammunition. So y'all have fun and stay safe-ish, ya hear!

• Anyone who refuses to take a breathalyzer test when being grilled by a police officer for possibly driving under the influence will be subject to an immediate $250 fine.

• Anyone who refuses to take a breathalyzer test, and requests a hearing to explain why he (and the law says "he") refused, and then doesn't show up at the hearing, will have his license suspended for a year for the first offense. For a second offense, the suspension is two years.

• Alcohol vaporizers are now illegal to use, possess, purchase, sell or offer for sale in Idaho--that is, unless you're using it for "bona fide research or medical purposes" (wink, wink).

• Anyone who finds a dead body but doesn't tell a county coroner or law enforcement officer can be charged with a misdemeanor and put in county jail for a year.

• Non-profit organizations who put on shooting competitions, or who use shooting ranges, no longer have to pay sales tax on membership dues.

• Anyone who leaks personal information (read: identity theft) from a corporation or agency can be fined up to $25,000 per offense.

• Part-time members of governmental boards, commissions and councils will received $100 per diems. Good for them.

• People who operate title loan companies are now required to have licenses. Good for us.

To wade through these and other new laws, visit www.idaho.legislature.gov.