House Committee Passes Anti-Occupy Bill 13-5


One Republican legislator, Rep. Janice McGeachin of Idaho Falls, joined four Democrats, Reps. Cherie Buckner-Webb of Boise, Elfreda Higgins of Garden City, Phylis King of Boise and Elaine Smith of Pocatello, this morning in a losing 13 to 5 vote to pass the so-called "anti-Occupy bill."

In voting to approve HB 404, which would clear the way for the eviction of the Occupy Boise encampment from the grounds of the old Ada County Courthouse, the House State Affairs Committee sent the measure to the House floor.

Earlier, Department of Administration Director Teresa Luna told the committee that if, and when, the bill passes through the Senate, her department would begin posting notices, letting Occupiers know that they would have just a matter of days before eviction proceedings would begin if Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter signed the emergency measure into law.

Following the vote, one citizen tried to address the committee, but Republican Chairman Tom Loertscher gaveled him down, saying the committee had concluded the matter.