News » Citydesk

Bieter's Choice

Time to pick a replacement for Vern Bisterfeldt


The City of Boise still has one more election, of sorts, in 2010. But only one vote will be cast: that of Mayor Dave Bieter. In a matter of weeks, hizzoner will "elect" a new city council member. Bieter will handpick a replacement for Vern Bisterfeldt who steps down at month's end to return as Ada County Commissioner. Bisterfeldt won a primary last spring and was unopposed in the November general election.

As BW was going to press, Bieter was culling a list of 53 applicants down to approximately one dozen.

The initial 53 applicants are:

Brett Adler (executive director, Boise Rec Fest), Justin Ahlin (owner, Native Born Creations), Chet Bowers (retired), William Boyer (retired), Liz Boyno (psycho-social rehab counselor), Chris Carpenter (technician, Intermountain Gas), Richard Cooke (self employed), Randy Eardley (deputy chief, Bureau of Land Management), Dale Eaton (ombudsman, Agency on Aging), Terri Franks-Smith (CFO, Idaho House), Christopher Geibel (private security officer), Douglas Gibson (architect), Chris Grant (records clerk, Citizens and Immigration Services), James Hallyburton (executive director, Boise Bicycle Project), Teresa Hammer (senior management analyst, Idaho State Police), Kent Kembree (president, Mondial Partners), Marisa Hendrix (staff coordinator, Saint Alphonsus Regional Medical Center), Amy Herzfeld (executive director, Idaho Human Rights Education Center), Greg Hoetker (teacher, Riverglen and South Junior High schools), David Honey (auto parts salesman), Greg Kaslo (architect), Joy Kealey (owner, Silver Creek Holding), Michelle Kelly (auditor, Idaho Transportation Department), James Kennedy (retired), David Litster (marketing director, Litster, Frost Injury Lawyers), Stephen Loop (engineer, Idaho Transportation Department), John Magnan (sales manager, Graphisoft North America), Jerome Mapp (former City Council member), Michael McClanahan (flooring contractor), Michael McCully (owner, Integrity Sales), Lauren McLean (owner, The Confluence Group), Andrew Mentzer (owner, Idahostel), Ray Mickelson (land use consultant), Daniel Moore (collections manager, Singers Insta Cash), Lance Muckelroy (records specialist, Idaho Transportation Department), Katherine Odziemek (DJ, Neurolux), Richard O'Hara (director of environmental affairs, American Ecology Corporation), Shirley O'Neal (president, Step Ahead Idaho), Margaret Oliver (retired), Mitch Owen (quality manager, Chelton Flight Systems), Abubakar Mohamed (executive director, Somali-Bantu Community Organization), Mark Perison (attorney), Shane Pielli (software architect, CQG), Richard Porter (retired), Ben Quintana (public relations director, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce), Jennifer Quintero (senior research analyst, Idaho Department of Labor), Craig Richey (human resources director, Thomas Cuisine Management), Ana Maria Schachtell (Latino community leader), Brian Scigliano (vice president, Wedbush Securities), Kristin Sinclair (independent marketing and advertising professional), George Slaughter (architect), Bryan Smith (emergency program manager, Idaho Transportation Department), David Sneddon (real estate agent). Phew.