2014 Governor's Awards in The Arts Announced


Every other year since the 1970s, the office of the governor and the Idaho Commission on the Arts have honored Idahoans' contributions to the arts with the Governor's Awards in the Arts—one of the first awards of its kind in the nation. The awards—silver medallions designed by Idaho artist Elizabeth Wolf—will be distributed during an official public ceremony by Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter and First Lady Lori Otter Tuesday, Dec. 2, from 2-4 p.m. in the Capitol rotunda.

The categories and their winners are as follows: 

Excellence in the Arts
Kim Barnes, writer (Moscow) and Denise Simone, actor (Hailey)

Support of the Arts
Marilyn Beck (Boise) and Ana Maria Schachtell (Boise)

Support of Arts Education
Linda Wolfe (Pocatello)

Excellence in Arts Administration
Terri Schorzman, executive director, Boise Department of Arts and History (Boise)

Lifetime Achievement
Daniel Stern, music director, Boise Baroque Orchestra (Boise)

Exceptional Service
Congressman Mike Simpson (Blackfoot)