Idaho State Police Hand Out Underage Alcohol Citations in Canyon, Payette Counties

by

Idaho State Police report that during an underage alcohol compliance check late last week conducted in Canyon County, only six people provided alcohol to minors. The half-dozen were cited for misdemeanors and the cases have been referred to the respective county prosecutors' offices. Penalties for selling or furnishing alcohol to underage youth can include up to a year in jail and fines between $500 and $1,000.

But in a separate operation in Payette County, in conjunction with the Big Nasty Hill Climb, 18 citations were issued to minors for illegal consumption or possession of alcohol. ISP said one 19-year-old female blew a .248 blood alcohol level, three times the legal limit. She was transported to a local hospital for possible alcohol poisoning.