Idaho Attorney General Lawrence Wasden announced today that 23 states, to date, have granted reciprocity to Idaho's concealed weapons licenses, while 11 states have declined. Wasden said his office is "continuing to communicate" with the remaining 15 states.
Beginning in July, Idaho offered two types of CWL's: the original license, issued to qualified persons 18 years old or older, with some discretion granted by county sheriffs. This year, Idaho began offering the "enhanced CWL," requiring specific training requirements to qualified persons 21 years old or older.
The following states recognize both types of CWL's: Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Three states only recognize the enhanced CWL's: Nevada, New Mexico and South Carolina.
The following states have declined to honor either: California, Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.
“Any time you plan to travel out of state and want to carry a concealed weapon, check with that state to verify if that state has granted reciprocity to Idaho (regular or enhanced CWL) and what that state’s laws are in regard to concealed carry,” said Wasden. “For example, Idaho defines “weapon” for concealed weapons licensing purposes as “any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver or any other deadly or dangerous weapon.” In some other states, such as Louisiana and Nebraska, only handguns may be carried under their concealed weapons law.”