Crapo, Risch, Simpson Vote For Debt Deal, Labrador Votes No


Idaho Senators Mike Crapo and Jim Risch joined 26 Republicans and 45 Democrats to pass the debt ceiling package that will cut hundreds of billions of dollars in government spending and force Congress' hand to cut billions more. The measure was quickly signed into law by President Barack Obama hours before the government's borrowing authority was officially set to run out.

Nineteen Republican and six Democratic members of the Senate voted against the bill, including Senators Tom Coburn, Jim DeMint, Lindsey Graham, Tom Harkin, Orrin Hatch, Ben Nelson, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Jeff Sessions and Richard Shelby.

"While it is a step in the right direction, it is only a first step in slowing the federal spending that is harming our economy," said Risch.

"Spending cuts simply must come first," said Crapo. "Followed by tax reform that will reduce taxes and promote policies that will grow our economy and stimulate job creation and growth."

Crapo and Risch joined Idaho Rep. Mike Simpson in voting for the measure. Freshman Rep. Raul Labrador was the lone member of the Idaho delegation who opposed the deal.