Bieter names library committee


Boise Mayor Dave Bieter just announced the formation of a new committee to explore funding options for building a new, main library.

“It’s clear from the overwhelming success of the new branch libraries and the increased use of the
current Main Library that Boiseans have a thirst for knowledge and learning," Bieter said in a press release sent this morning.

The committee includes:

Sona Andrews – Boise State University
Denise Baird – Library Board Member
A.J. Balukoff – Library Board Member
Joel Hickman – Key Bank
Mark Hofflund – Idaho Shakespeare Festival
Joy Kealey – Chicago Connection
Hy Kloc – Boise State Radio
Kenn Lamson – Idaho Trust National Bank
Susan Lovelace – Civic Leader
Mike McIntyre – Micron Technology, Inc.
Nick Miller – Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley
Nancy Napier – Boise State University
Tim Olson – Library Foundation Board
Esther Oppenheimer – Civic Leader
Mi-Ai Parrish – Idaho Statesman

Bieter's vision for the library: a 176,000-square-foot building; mixed-use
opportunities including a coffee bar, copy/print/mail center, gift shop or office space; a fixed seating
auditorium for cultural events; gallery space for traveling exhibits; conference rooms for web
conferencing and meetings; as many as 200 internet computers for public use; a children’s library;
electronic classrooms; and an expanded offering of audio/visual materials.

Downtown developer Mark Rivers has also advocated for such a project and the city indicates it will look at public/private partnerships in getting the project done and also solicit some $15 to $20 million in contributions to the cause.